Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Leading Growth in Lean Times
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Career and Leadership
Ask an Exec!
Member Spotlight: Colonel Michael Foutch
Member Spotlight: Cheryl Kozai, MBA, BSN, RN, FACHE
ACHE National News
Connect With Your Peers
Healthcare Consultants Forum Member Directory: Connecting Executives to Consultants
Forum on Advances in Healthcare Management Research
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Which would you be most interested in participating in virtually:
ACHE Congress
Face to Face Credit Education Opportunities
Networking Opportunities
Other
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent

Message From Your ACHE Regent 
Spring 2021 

Aloha, 

It is an honor to serve as your Regent for the American College of Healthcare Executives, the preeminent national association for healthcare leaders. I look forward to helping to continue providing relevant and practical education to healthcare leaders as well as championing diverse leadership that reflects the communities being served. 

This year’s Congress on Healthcare Leadership was held virtually, March 22-25. This event was offered at a significantly reduced rate yet still provided the same level of quality content and continuing education opportunities to meet credentialing needs. To demonstrate the incredible success of this event, I’d like to present a few facts:

  •  9,234 registrants, more than double the typical registration
  • 1,364 CEOs registered
  • 3,655 Fellows in attendance
  • 55 Registrants from our region 

Locally, our Chapter offered the complimentary virtual program series, “Conversations About Leadership,” which was also well-attended and presented by some of our most recognized leaders and experts in their respective areas. Special thanks to Kristen Croom and the Education Committee for organizing this event. The following sessions offered 4.5 F2F credits for ACHE, as well as ACCME and ANCC hours for qualifying attendees:

  • Crisis Management: Strategies to Effectively Manage a Healthcare Organization (Moderator: Dr. Josh Green, LT Governor)
  • Telemedicine in the Healthcare Delivery System (Moderator: Dr. Jennifer Mbuthia)
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (Moderator: Dr. Lara Yamada Hazenfield) 

For Guam, the Hawai’ian Islands, and other locations in the Hawai’i-Pacific region, we have a long history of facing challenges in attending these high-quality conferences and receiving continuing education credits due to the financial costs of travel and long periods of time away from work and family. ACHE has embraced technology to provide these virtual opportunities for full credit to our members, and I urge you to take advantage of them. 

Finally, I’d like to take the opportunity to recognize Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE, for her years of service as our Regent and her numerous and immeasurable accomplishments during her tenure. We have never faced the magnitude of challenges we are experiencing today in healthcare. I look forward to working with all of you to provide opportunities and resources to serve the healthcare leaders of Hawai’i and the Pacific region.  



Micah B. Ewing, FACHE 
Regent for Hawaii/Pacific 
micah.ewing@ hawaiipacifichealth.org 

Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606