Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE September 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
How Providers Can Continue to Support Mental Health Services Post-Pandemic
A Call for Aloha
News & Committee Updates
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Career and Leadership
Ask an Exec!
Member Spotlight: Suzanne Asaro
ACHE National News
Connect With Your Peers
Our Exclusive On-Demand Content Library Can Help Advance Your Career
Healthcare Consultants Forum Member Directory: Connecting Executives to Consultants
ACHE Blog and Podcasts
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What are you most concerned about with the current Delta variant COVID surge?
Employee Wellbeing
Capacity
Staffing Challenges
Supply Chain Issues
Other
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Article of Interest
A Call for Aloha
Kenny Morris

As the world not so slowly emerges from travel lockdowns, social-distancing and the seemingly endless cycle of work from home Zoom calls, social and political discontent and takeout (lots and lots of takeout), we must recognize that the world we rejoin is one that is different in ways that herd immunity alone cannot overcome.  We need Aloha.

During the height of the Pandemic, we retreated to our own corners of the world both physically and philosophically, in person and virtually, pulled by the gravity of those closest to us in body and in thought.  Kupuna were isolated, our Keiki disconnected, and our families separated – with birthdays, weddings, and births all celebrated distantly, quietly, and virtually.

Even as the promise of mass vaccinations emerged, our Healthcare workers and support staff are departing the profession in staggering numbers as preventable surges in hospitalizations combined with staffing shortages further tax an already exhausted workforce. Reopenings and latent demand for travel and dining service have exposed hospitality workers to a barrage of misbehavior as well. Restaurants now do not close because they cannot survive financially. Instead, they close because their staff must recover mentally and emotionally from the flood of rude and demanding customers.

From lockdowns to vaccines, re-openings to new variants, as a people, we have been pulled under and thrown around from wave after wave of virus as if stuck inside on a big day at Waimea Bay.  We are more divided than ever, more exhausted, burned out, and on edge than ever and to top it off, it has been a year and a half since we had a conversation with a stranger that wasn’t in the comment section of Jason Mamoa’s latest Instagram post. 

Combined, these are a most potent recipe for disaster, yet it is in these moments of adversity that we in Hawaii are most well equipped to thrive.  Here in Hawaii, the melting pot of cultures, philosophies, ethnicities and the home of celebrated diversity, we have Aloha.

Per the Hawaii Revised Statutes 5-7.5,

“Aloha” means mutual regard and affection and extends warmth in caring with no obligation in return. 

“Aloha” is the essence of relationships in which each person is important to every other person for collective existence.

As we return to a changed world, we may be different, we may be a little rough around the edges and a little rusty at socializing, but we are all in this together.  A little patience, understanding and a lot of Aloha can go a long way.

Practice Aloha, give Aloha and show Aloha and our new world will be better for it.

Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606