Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Diversity Disparities
Tackling Important Conversations Virtually
The Impact of Remote Work on Reading Body Language
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Diversity Committee: Chapter Demographics
Member Spotlight: Laura Bonilla
ACHE National News
Connect With Your Peers
Our Exclusive On-Demand Content Library Can Help Advance Your Career
Healthcare Consultants Forum Member Directory: Connecting Executives to Consultants
ACHE Blog and Podcasts
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What are you most concerned about with the current Omicron variant COVID surge?
Employee Wellbeing
Capacity
Staffing Challenges
Supply Chain Issues
Other
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Jayar Calilung

TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Aloha Hawaii-Pacific Chapter ACHE Members!
 
Mele Kalikimaka! During this holiday season, we are reminded of all that we are thankful for: our families, our colleagues, health, amongst other important things. I hope you all get to spend time with family this holiday season, doing things that help you recharge your passion after what has been a challenging few years. As you know, leading with a heavy heart is difficult during times like these, and it is important to ensure we focus on selfcare as well. Happy Holidays!
 
Student Engagement: We have done some exciting moves this fall in the local Hawaii-Pacific ACHE chapter. Starting with the membership scholarships that are being awarded to local healthcare students & military members. One of our goals this year was to engage tomorrow’s healthcare leaders, and get them involved with our chapter. These membership scholarships will award the students with all of the benefits of an ACHE membership, as well as connecting them with board members for mentoring sessions.
 
Continuing Education: Providing education opportunities remains a focus for our chapter and we capped this year with a complimentary continuing education program on “Professional Burnout in Healthcare.” 
 
Annual Meeting: We held our (virtual) local chapter’s annual members meeting on December 14th, We were able to recognize award recipients, provide general chapter updates, and are offer 1 hour of continuing education credits from renowned speaker Craig Daeo. Thank you to all who joined!
 
I would like to close by saying it has been a pleasure serving you over the past two years as the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE President. The pandemic spoiled some of our in-person conferences and events, but it has been a rewarding few years, and I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity. Please join me in welcoming our incoming President, Travis Clegg, the COO of Straub Medical Center, who will be assuming the President role in January.
 
Mahalo for all that you do! Cheers to a safe & prosperous holiday!

Thank you,

Andrew

 
Andrew T. Giles, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE  
Assistant Administrator - Hospital Operations & Support Services
 
808-432-7960 (office)
808-432-8605 (fax)
808-763-8544 (mobile phone)
Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606