Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE 06/15/2022
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Article of Interest
Traits for Tomorrow’s Leaders
Repelling Cybersecurity Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Member Spotlight: Lt. Col Daniel Coulter
ACHE National News
ACHE Call for Nominations for the 2023 Slate
Save $225 on the Exam Fee
Connect With Fellow Members
Executive Diversity Career Navigator
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What is your current top concern for the rest of 2022?
Coronavirus
Recruiting Staff
Supply Chain
Economic Pressures (inflation, wages, etc)
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

PRESIDENT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kristen Croom
kcroom@queens.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Jayar Calilung

TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Lt. Col. Daniel Coulter
daniel.t.coulter@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Lt. Col. Philip Durando
philip.durando@gmail.com

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Anita Becker
abecker@shrinenet.org

Gloria Brooks
gbrooks@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Dr. Lilian Kanai
lkanaimd@gmail.com

Glenn Kawabata
glenn.kawabata@straub.net


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Vacant | Diversity

Jennifer Espiritu | Education
espiritujm@gmail.com

Kristen Croom | Membership
kcroom@queens.org

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Kristen Croom | Nominating
kcroom@queens.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent

Message From Your ACHE Regent 
Spring 2022

 

Dear Colleagues, 

As we find ourselves just at the midpoint of 2022, I hope you and your families are having a great start to the summer.

During this year’s ACHE Congress on Healthcare Leadership, I had the honor and privilege of attending the 88th annual Convocation Ceremony on Sunday March 27.  As this year’s Congress was our first in-person event in 3 years, the Convocation Ceremony held special significance.  This year’s ceremony honored those achieving the fellow credential nationally in 2019, 2020, and 2021.   

The Convocation is a reminder of the magnitude and importance of the Fellow credential—it is much more than passing a difficult exam and obtaining some recommendation letters and a certificate.  Becoming a Fellow is a pledge to advance our profession through leadership competence, practice with a high standard of integrity and ethics, actively contribute to the improvement of healthcare in our community, and commit to lifelong learning through continuing education.  I would argue that these attributes continue to be increasingly crucial with the challenging road ahead in our industry.    

It is with great pride that I heard the names of eight members of our chapter get honored in this event and appreciate those that were able to attend in person and take their pledge:

2019

Andrew T. Giles, FACHE, Honolulu

Kirsten C. Pennaz, RN, FACHE, Honolulu

2020

Marisa Adaro, FACHE, Pearl City

Kristen L. Croom, FACHE, Waianae

Colleen F. Inouye, MD, FACHE, Kahului

Lilian Kanai, MD, FACHE, Honolulu

James C. Lin, MD, FACHE, Honolulu

Stephanie Nadolny, FACHE, Honolulu

If you are interested in taking the next steps towards becoming a Fellow, please visit https://www.ache.org/FACHE.

Finally, I look forward to seeing you at our upcoming educational and networking events:·   

·       2022 Annual Breakfast and Member Meeting (July 26, 7-8AM) – This event is back in person at the Hawai’i Prince and will occur just prior to the Annual Healthcare Association of Hawai‘i meeting.

·       2022 Annual Hawai’i Leadership Conference (Fall, TBD) – It’s back! The local AONL, ACHE, and HSCN chapters are partnering to bring you another 2-day conference that will provide outstanding face to face leadership sessions and networking opportunities.  

Aloha,

Micah

Micah B. Ewing, FACHE 
Regent for Hawaii/Pacific 
micah.ewing@  hawaiipacifichealth.org

Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606