Summer 2013
In This Issue
President's Message
KAHCE Annual Meeting & Education - Save the Date: November 13, 2013
SAVE THE DATE - September 12, 2013
KAHCE Membership Update
Adding Value to Student Membership
Mentoring Matters
Meet & Mentor
National News - Summer 2013
Avoid Complacency in Presentations
Focus on Professional Growth
Find Out Who Is Waiting to Welcome You
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Dave Engel, FACHE
Phillips County Hospital
Phillipsburg, KS
President Elect
Heather Fuller, FACHE
Sunflower Health Network
Salina, KS
Past President
Janet Stanek, FACHE
Stormont Vail HealthCare, Inc.
Topeka, KS
Melissa L. Hungerford, FACHE
Kansas Hospital Association
Topeka, KS
ACHE Regent
Jeremy Armstrong, FACHE
St. Luke Hospital and Living Center
Marion, KS
KAHCE Membership Update
Bob Bregant, FACHE
Fellowship Advancement News
Five Kansas Members successfully completed the Advancement Webinar series held this summer in cooperation with the South and Central Texas Chapters. The KAHCE Board has agreed to provide reimbursement of the $250 Advancement Fee in recognition of their efforts. The participants each presented one of the study modules and attended a one hour webinar over several weeks preparing for the Board of Governor’s Exam. We wish them good luck as they prepare to sit for the exam later this year.
Participants included:
Justine Karungi University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City
Michele Gillespie Southwest Medical Center, Liberal
Mark Dwyer Olathe Medical Center, Olathe
Terri Janda Stormont Vail, Topeka
Adele Ducharme Cushing Hospital, Leavenworth
New ACHE Members
Ryan Hullenbach Overland Park KS
Katelyn Kaiser Kansas City KS
David Whiteside Overland Park KS
James Holt Wichita KS
Robert Plowman Lenexa KS
Meda Bower Overland Park KS
Kenneth Bailey Mauldin SC
Heather Viviano Leawood KS
Sharron Jordan Ball LA
Adib Farha Wichita KS
Lois Griffin Liberal KS
Timothy Stevens Topeka KS
JamesTusten Johnson KS
Members new to the Kansas Chapter
Bonnie Peterson Lawrence KS
Victoria Somnuk Fort Leavenworth KS
Aaron Neal  
Alan Fisher Fredonia KS
Adam Flackus Gardner KS
Jeff Forrest Dodge City KS
Ronald Nguyen Overland Park KS
Dirk Foxworthy Overland Park KS
Jon Scott Topeka KS
G. Gordon Docking Overland Park KS
Roger Barnhart Olathe KS
Jared Abel Winchester KS
Michelle Dean Mclouth KS
Help us grow
The Membership Committee continues to focus on educating prospective new members to the benefits of ACHE.  This year, our committee will focus on recruiting healthcare administration students, hospital managers/directors interested in moving into the executive ranks, and healthcare executives working outside the hospital setting. 
We encourage any current members of KAHCE to provide the names of potential new member candidates to the board or our committee and we will provide them additional information. 
Previous Article
Next Article