Quarterly SOHLstice
Please note minor edits made to the President's Message and Programs Quarterly Update. December 2021
In This Issue
Message from Our ACHE Regent: Digging Deep
President's Message: Moving Forward into the Future
2021 Year in Review: Summary of SOHL Programs
2021 ACHE and SOHL Awards and Recognition
2022 Board Slate
SOHL Programs: Quarterly Update
Welcome Our Newest Members of SOHL
Q4 2021 National News
Keeping the “Community” in Community Hospital
Wayne UNC Health Care: Enhancing a Positive Culture
Special Thanks to Our Platinum and Gold Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Chapter Officers

Executive Board

Regent (California - Southern)
Harry C. Sax, MD, FACHE, FACS
Cedars Sinai Medical Center


Nora Bota
County of San Diego


Immediate Past Co-Presidents
Dasha Dahdouh
Rady Children's Hospital - San Diego

Darrell Atkin

Johan Otter
Scripps Health


President Elect
Jessica Taylor
Jessica Taylor Consulting

Sarah Norwood
Tech Coast Angels San Diego

James Revels
UC San Diego Health


Jennifer Reyes
Neighborhood Healthcare

Board of Directors

Debbie Jacobs

Aubrianna Schumacher
UC San Diego Health Physician Group

Jack Hallmark

Lydia Isabel Napa
UC San Diego Health

Marketing and Communications
Ana Victoria Ramirez
Sharp Coronado Hospital

Sean Olmo
Scripps Health

Barbara Gerber
Devon Hill Associates, LLC

Gary Fybel
FMG Leading


Subcommittee Members

Diversity Council
Kelly Price Noble
University of Phoenix

Pranav Dixit

Allied Healthcare Professional Council

County: Nora Bota, County of San Diego

Military: LT Jac Thomas

VA: Sarah Guerard, VA San Diego Healthcare System

Volunteer Coordinator
Kristine Ortwine
Integrated Health Partners

Annual Conference
Johan Otter
Scripps Health


Mike De Castro
ECG Management Consultants

Social Media
Moyosore Buari


Marketing Volunteer
Susan Stone
Sharp HealthCare

Maureen Malone


Executive Program
Celerina Cornett
UC San Diego Extension

Jack Hallmark

Advancement Study Group
Carol Cannizzo

Nicholas Hance


Early Careerists
Jennifer Reyes
Neighborhood Healthcare

Graduate Program Council, San Diego State University
Brandy Lipton

Thuy Do

Britney Seidemann


Graduate Program Council, National University
Negin Iranfar

Joy De Dios


Graduate Program Council, UC San Diego
Robert Kaplan

Justin Sigmund

Michael Chan

Graduate Program Council, University of Phoenix
Kelly Price Noble
University of Phoenix

College Bowl
Negin Iranfar
National University

Senior Advisors Council
Mary Parra
Neighborhood Healthcare

Mark Campbell
TRICARE Regional Office – West

Jared Vogt
Rady Children's Hospital

Trish Daly
Daly Consulting Solutions

President's Message: Moving Forward into the Future

In the words of Martin Luther King Jr., “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” In spite of all the challenges the past two years have presented with the pandemic and not having an opportunity to host in-person events, the San Diego Organization of Healthcare Leaders (SOHL) has continued to find ways to move forward, now, and into the future.

The SOHL Chapter accomplished several new initiatives toward diversity, equity, inclusion, innovation, and infrastructure, and continued to move forward. This was made evident with the recent American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Annual Chapter Member Needs Survey results, as SOHL was recognized nationally for exceeding overall member satisfaction scores. When members were asked “On a scale of 1 to 5, where 1 is poor and 5 is excellent, please rate your overall satisfaction with your Chapter,” the 2021 mean was 4.39 (increase by 0.13 since 2019) and higher than the 2021 National mean for all Chapters (3.88). These results are a testament to the Board and their leadership from 2019 to 2021. A summary of the 2021 programs and events is in the “Year in Review” section of the newsletter.

All of these accomplishments would not be made possible without the support of the SOHL Board and volunteers that spent the past year working hard to ensure the Chapter continuously provides educational opportunities for its members (see “Awards and Recognitions” section of the newsletter for the list of recipients). Through their leadership and the generous contributions of the SOHL Sponsors, over 50 individual program sessions were provided to the community. In addition, these efforts supported five SOHL members to become a Fellow of ACHE.

An upcoming program that is made possible by the support of the SOHL Board and Sponsors is the 13th Annual SOHL Conference, Stronger and Together, held virtually from December 13-16, 2021. The Annual Conference will reflect on this year through the lenses of diverse healthcare leaders. This year’s vision is to instill hope and shed light on various local organizations, responsibilities, operations, challenges, and personal efforts that help sustain a united front while offering services to communities during a global pandemic. You can register for the keynote session with Wilma J. Wooten, M.D., M.P.H., Public Health Officer for the County of San Diego, and the three-day panel with distinguished healthcare leaders in Southern California, by clicking here to earn up to 4.5 hours of ACHE face-to-face credits and 1 hour of qualified education credit. Thank you to the Annual Conference Committee, led by Johan Otter, and supported by his team of leaders, Moyosore Buari, Jennifer Reyes, and Ana Ramirez, among others. 

In the spirit of Stronger & Together, the SOHL Board continued the tradition of donating $500 to give back to the community during these difficult times the past two years. The following organizations will receive $100 each: Father Joe’s Villages, Feeding San Diego, My Brother’s Keeper Alliance, Survivors of Torture International, and Young Survival Coalition.

Thank you to the 2021 Past Presidents, Johan Otter, Darrell Atkin, and Dasha Dahdouh, for their leadership during the pandemic last year and providing me the opportunity to work with you this year. As we close out this year, SOHL looks forward to welcoming its new leaders in 2022.

Please help me congratulate the 2022 SOHL President, Jessica Taylor, who has been a tremendous support for the SOHL Board, members, and healthcare community. SOHL wishes Jessica all the best, along with the 2022 Board of Directors, elected by the SOHL members in October 2021, and Board Slate (see “2022 Board Slate” section in the newsletter for the list of individuals).

May 2022 be a better and brighter future! I hope you all move forward with continued success in the new year as you lead your teams to new paths.



Nora M. Bota, M.P.H.

President, San Diego Organization of Healthcare Leaders



Previous Article
Next Article