Quarterly SOHLstice
Please note minor edits made to the President's Message and Programs Quarterly Update. December 2021
In This Issue
Message from Our ACHE Regent: Digging Deep
President's Message: Moving Forward into the Future
2021 Year in Review: Summary of SOHL Programs
2021 ACHE and SOHL Awards and Recognition
2022 Board Slate
SOHL Programs: Quarterly Update
Welcome Our Newest Members of SOHL
Q4 2021 National News
Keeping the “Community” in Community Hospital
Wayne UNC Health Care: Enhancing a Positive Culture
Special Thanks to Our Platinum and Gold Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Chapter Officers

Executive Board

Regent (California - Southern)
Harry C. Sax, MD, FACHE, FACS
Cedars Sinai Medical Center


Nora Bota
County of San Diego


Immediate Past Co-Presidents
Dasha Dahdouh
Rady Children's Hospital - San Diego

Darrell Atkin

Johan Otter
Scripps Health


President Elect
Jessica Taylor
Jessica Taylor Consulting

Sarah Norwood
Tech Coast Angels San Diego

James Revels
UC San Diego Health


Jennifer Reyes
Neighborhood Healthcare

Board of Directors

Debbie Jacobs

Aubrianna Schumacher
UC San Diego Health Physician Group

Jack Hallmark

Lydia Isabel Napa
UC San Diego Health

Marketing and Communications
Ana Victoria Ramirez
Sharp Coronado Hospital

Sean Olmo
Scripps Health

Barbara Gerber
Devon Hill Associates, LLC

Gary Fybel
FMG Leading


Subcommittee Members

Diversity Council
Kelly Price Noble
University of Phoenix

Pranav Dixit

Allied Healthcare Professional Council

County: Nora Bota, County of San Diego

Military: LT Jac Thomas

VA: Sarah Guerard, VA San Diego Healthcare System

Volunteer Coordinator
Kristine Ortwine
Integrated Health Partners

Annual Conference
Johan Otter
Scripps Health


Mike De Castro
ECG Management Consultants

Social Media
Moyosore Buari


Marketing Volunteer
Susan Stone
Sharp HealthCare

Maureen Malone


Executive Program
Celerina Cornett
UC San Diego Extension

Jack Hallmark

Advancement Study Group
Carol Cannizzo

Nicholas Hance


Early Careerists
Jennifer Reyes
Neighborhood Healthcare

Graduate Program Council, San Diego State University
Brandy Lipton

Thuy Do

Britney Seidemann


Graduate Program Council, National University
Negin Iranfar

Joy De Dios


Graduate Program Council, UC San Diego
Robert Kaplan

Justin Sigmund

Michael Chan

Graduate Program Council, University of Phoenix
Kelly Price Noble
University of Phoenix

College Bowl
Negin Iranfar
National University

Senior Advisors Council
Mary Parra
Neighborhood Healthcare

Mark Campbell
TRICARE Regional Office – West

Jared Vogt
Rady Children's Hospital

Trish Daly
Daly Consulting Solutions

2021 ACHE and SOHL Awards and Recognition

ACHE Recognition Awards

Congratulations to the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Recognition awardees! The ACHE Recognition is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to healthcare management excellence through their volunteer service to the San Diego Organization of Healthcare Leaders (SOHL) Chapter, ACHE, and the healthcare profession. On behalf of ACHE, SOHL is honored to acknowledge the ACHE Recognition Awardees listed below.

*One star is awarded for every 30 hours of service.

1 STAR Fellow – Service Award:

Jessica Taylor, FACHE

Sarah Guerard, FACHE

1 STAR Member – Service Award:

Sarah Norwood

Peter Chu

SOHL Board and Volunteer Awards

Congratulations to the SOHL Board Members and Volunteers that were recognized on December 9, 2021, for their leadership to carry out the Chapter's mission to advance our members' professional excellence and thereby advance the healthcare industry. The 2021 SOHL Board Members and Volunteer Awardees are listed below.

Hallmark Awards:

Outstanding Board Member: Jessica Taylor       

This award’s purpose is to recognize the SOHL Board member whose contributions helped make the organization more successful through time, leadership, and execution of SOHL’s Strategic Plan.

Senior Leader: Johan Otter

This award’s purpose is to recognize a senior-level SOHL healthcare professional who demonstrates an exceptional dedication to the organization and helped make the organization more successful. “Senior” can mean someone who is considered a senior leader in their organization or someone with many years of experience in healthcare and SOHL.

Volunteer of the Year 2021: Sarah Norwood

This award is provided to a volunteer (Board or Non-Board) who has shown exemplary dedication to our Chapter through their time, ideas, and assistance in the execution of SOHL’s Strategic Plan.

Fun Awards:

Best Ideas: Pranav Dixit

Best Team Player: Lydia Napa

Rising Stars: Jennifer Reyes and Thuy Do

Biggest Heart: Kristine Ortwine, Ana Ramirez, Negin Iranfar, and Dasha Dahdouh

Most Creative Thinker: Darrell Atkin

Best Attitude: Gary Fybel

Most Likely to Help Out: Moyosore Buari

SOHL Board and Volunteer Recognition

Thank you to the 2021 SOHL Board and volunteers for their dedication, hard work, and commitment to give back to the healthcare community (full list below).

  • Adam Burke
  • Ailorra Brunin
  • Alice Dang
  • Ana Ramirez
  • Aubrianna Schumacher
  • Brandon Newton
  • Brandy Lipton
  • Britney Prince
  • Brittney Seidemann
  • Carol Cannizzo
  • Casey Kibby
  • Celerina Cornett
  • Christopher Walker
  • Crystal Bui
  • Darrell Atkin
  • Dasha Dahdouh
  • Debbie Jacobs
  • Denisse Vega
  • Devin Morrison
  • Donna Evans
  • Elena Cardenas
  • Emily (Tram) Do
  • Fredelyne Dolores
  • Gary Fybel
  • Haley  McClure
  • Harry Sax
  • Jack Hallmark
  • Jack Nasser
  • James  Caballero
  • James Revels
  • Jared Vogt
  • Jason Ortiz
  • Javier Ochoa
  • Jeffrey Jimenez
  • Jennifer Reyes
  • Jesse Thomas
  • Jessica Taylor
  • Johan Otter
  • Jonathan Oravsky
  • Kannamma Kannan
  • Kelly Price Noble
  • Koku Ametepe
  • Kristine Ortwine
  • Lilly Najera
  • Lydia Napa
  • Mark Campbell
  • Mary Parra
  • Mason Matalon
  • Maureen Malone
  • Meera Talati
  • Michael Chan
  • Mike De Castro
  • Moyosore Buari
  • Nafisah Raji
  • Nancy L. Henroid
  • Nathan Tegel
  • Negin Iranfar
  • Nick Hance
  • Nora Bota
  • Peter Chu
  • Pranav Dixit
  • Robert Kaplan
  • Rohini S Wurth
  • Sara Traw
  • Sarah Guerard
  • Sarah Norwood
  • Sean Olmo
  • Sharon Tam
  • Shiako King
  • Susan Stone
  • Thuy Do
  • Trish Daly
  • Vivienne Galasso
  • Zena McCartney
Previous Article
Next Article