American College of Healthcare Executives
Winter 2011
In This Issue

Message from the President
THEF Retreat Recap
Pacesetters: Jim Murphy, THEF’s Education Chair
Message from the Regent
National News - Winter 2011
Tips on Effective Mediation of a Dispute
Tailor Your Crisis-Management Approach
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)


Chapter Officers

President
Alan L. Copland
alan@alancopland.com

Immediate Past President
Kimyatta Washington
kimyatta@gmail.com

Treasurer
Sara Gregory
sara.gregory@duke.edu

Board of Directors

Kyle Dorsey
kyle.dorsey@duke.edu

Richa Gupta

rgupta04@hotmail.com

Michele A. Jackson
mjackson@wakerad.com

Jim Murphy
jmurphy@unch.unc.edu

Brian M. Wofford

brian.wofford@duke.edu

Eastern North Carolina Local Program Council

Committee Chair
Michael R. Raisig

Committee Members
Scott B. Bankard
Megan S. Booth-Mills
Jay T. Briley, FACHE
Sem Ganthier
F. Matthew Gitzinger
Sandra J. Sackrison, FACHE
Meredith B. Sclater
Kelli P. Smith, FACHE
Lee A. Syphus, FACHE

Tips on Effective Mediation of a Dispute

Step up when you notice that a personal conflict between two employees is starting to flare up and affect the larger group’s effectiveness. Follow these simple guidelines:

  • Seek an invitation. For the most part, staffers might not appreciate having you or anyone interfere without permission. However, if they seem incapable of resolving the matter on their own, do not wait for them to ask you to intervene. Let them know up front that you have noticed a problem, and offer them the choice of solving it on their own by a certain deadline or with your assistance.
  • Make it clear that you will not be taking sides. Explain in advance that you intend to be objective. Although you may speak with each employee separately, explain that you will pass along what each person tells you, to give the other person a chance to verify and also clarify.
  • Pass along criticism and comments. Sharing positive remarks as well as negative comments allows each person to see the merit in the other person’s position.
  • Point out miscommunication and misperceptions. The employees’ relationship may be suffering because of wrong information, invalid assumptions, misjudged intentions or incorrect conclusions. Tell them what you see, remind them of their common goals and needs and ask them to suggest solutions.
  • Keep the lines of communication open. After they resolve the issue, look for or create opportunities for them to interact occasionally. Recognize and reward positive actions that contribute to open communication.
     

Adapted from “Change Crisis-Management Approach” Communication Briefings, November 2010; (800) 791-8699; www.briefingsmediagroup.com.

 

Next Article
Previous Article




This e-mail was sent by the American College of Healthcare Executives on behalf of the ACHE chapter in your area. If you would prefer not
to receive any chapter newsletters via e-mail, please send a message to 'chapters@ache.org' and enter "unsubscribe_chapter newsletters"
in the subject line. Please include your full name, mailing address, and affiliate ID number (if known).