Fall 2015
In This Issue
Message from the President
Call for Nominations: 2016 Board of Directors
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Fall 2015
Checking In With Employees
Communicating Change
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2015 Board Members
President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

President-Elect
Katy Davis, MHA
Cone Health
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

Secretary
Deana Knight, MSN, HSAD, CEO
Select Specialty Hospital-Greensboro
DeKnight@selectmedical.com
(336) 832-8571

Treasurer
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Cone Health
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Cone Health
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Director
Kwadwo Frimpong-Badu
BB&T
kwadwofbadu@gmail.com
(405) 219-0130

Immediate Past President
Vivian Langley, MHA
Cone Health
Vivian.Langley@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7087

Education Chair
Bridgett Sellars, PhD, RN, FACHE
AMN Healthcare
Bridgettsellars@gmail.com
(336) 209-4933

Sponsorship Chair
Mark Watson, MPT, OCS, MBA
Watson Healthcare Solutions
mark@watsonhealth.com
(412) 302-1668

Audit Chair
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
Fellowship Hall
bradm@fellowshiphall.com
(336) 580-9198

Recruitment Chair
Michael Duke
KPMG
michaelduke@kpmg.com
(336) 416-0568

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
Pfeiffer University
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associate
Eleanor Rivers
Cone Health
Eleanor.Rivers@conehealth.com
(336) 254-6720
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Fall 2015

Message from Your ACHE Regent
Fall 2015

Fall is here, schools are back in session and ACHE chapters in North Carolina are in full swing.  It's the perfect time of year to become involved in your local chapter.  If you are not engaged in the chapter activities, leadership or participation, I encourage you to connect with your chapter to volunteer your talents.  The chapter is only as good as the people who participate.  I would like to congratulate the leadership of all four North Carolina chapters for their strategic plan development, educational plans and planned networking opportunities for this year.  It is going to be a great year!

I would also like to encourage those of you who are not Fellows to take this opportunity to move to that next level.  FACHE is THE credential for healthcare leaders.  It validates our competency in leadership.  Just as other professions in healthcare have their national certification, we should strive for that level in ours.  When I interviewed for my current position, it required FACHE credentials. I am grateful that ACHE has allowed me to progress in higher levels of leadership throughout my career.  The Fellow credential could do that for you as well.

I look forward to seeing you at upcoming chapter activities.

Joann Anderson, FACHE
Regent for North Carolina 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date!
Using Lean, Six Sigma, and Blue Ocean Thinking to Transform Organizations
Thursday, November 5, 5:00 PM
Grandover Resort and Conference Center, Greensboro, NC
Join us for an evening of networking, fine dining, and a panel discussion featuring four local professionals providing an overview of the various methodologies and share their experience regarding the use of these approaches in their respective organizations.  Registration includes dinner and two drink tickets (beer, wine, or soda).
Registration information will be emailed in the coming weeks.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Samar Ellison, Myra D. Kelly (Cone Health), Michael Lalor (Hospice and Palliative Care Center), Eleanor Parker (Randolph Hospital), and Priya Patel.  We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Recertified: Cindy Jarrett-Pulliam, Danica Patterson (Novant Health), and Judy Schanel (Cone Health).