Winter 2015
In This Issue
Message from the President
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Winter 2016
Improving Communication for Better Retention
Host a Successful Feedback Session
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2015 Board Members
President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

President-Elect
Katy Davis, MHA
Cone Health
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

Secretary
Deana Knight, MSN, HSAD, CEO
Select Specialty Hospital-Greensboro
DeKnight@selectmedical.com
(336) 832-8571

Treasurer
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Cone Health
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Cone Health
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Vivian Langley, MHA
Cone Health
Vivian.Langley@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7087

Education Chair
Bridgett Sellars, PhD, RN, FACHE
AMN Healthcare
Bridgettsellars@gmail.com
(336) 209-4933

Sponsorship Chair
Mark Watson, MPT, OCS, MBA
Watson Healthcare Solutions
mark@watsonhealth.com
(412) 302-1668

Audit Chair
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
Fellowship Hall
bradm@fellowshiphall.com
(336) 580-9198

Recruitment Chair
Michael Duke
KPMG
michaelduke@kpmg.com
(336) 416-0568

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
Pfeiffer University
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associate
Eleanor Rivers
Cone Health
Eleanor.Rivers@conehealth.com
(336) 254-6720
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Winter 2016

Message from Your ACHE Regent
Winter 2016

I want to congratulate each of the North Carolina chapters on their educational programs for the fall of 2015.  I had the opportunity to attend a couple of the programs.  The quality of the speakers was excellent and the topics timely.  Those that I did not have the opportunity to attend had equally qualified speakers.  Thanks to all who assisted in putting the programs together.  I know it takes time and effort.

Congratulations also go out to the Greater Charlotte Healthcare Executives Group.  They have successfully developed 16 mentor/mentee pairs this year.  Many thanks to those mentors who are sharing their knowledge to develop stronger, future leaders.  For those who might be interested in being a mentor or having a mentor, I encourage you to contact your local chapter for assistance.  You will also find information on the structure of the ACHE Mentoring program online.   There are some great tools to make the experience a positive one for each person involved. 

As I plan for next year, I have scheduled an ACHE breakfast during the NCHA Winter meeting.  On Feb. 19, 2016, Chairman-Elect Edward H. Lamb, FACHE will address breakfast attendees. Please let me know if you would like additional information on the breakfast.  Additionally, I hope you are making plans to attend ACHE Congress March 14-17, 2016 in Chicago.  For more information refer to ache.org/Congress.  Registration is now open.  I hope to see each of you there.

Joann Anderson, FACHE
Regent for North Carolina

Previous Article
Next Article
Scholarship Award Winners Announced
And the winners are...
The winners of the 2015 ACHE of the Triad Student Scholarship were announced on November 5 at our annual meeting.  Congratulations to Beth Murray and Keith Jones, both of Pfeiffer University, for being selected as this year's recipients of the student scholarship.  Beth and Keith will both join our board in 2016 as Student Associates.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Sharon Cass, Brian Yarbrough, Heather King, and Sohonnel Morrow.  We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Recertified: Paul Hammes and Ernest Bovio.