Winter 2015
In This Issue
Message from the President
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Winter 2016
Improving Communication for Better Retention
Host a Successful Feedback Session
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2015 Board Members
President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

President-Elect
Katy Davis, MHA
Cone Health
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

Secretary
Deana Knight, MSN, HSAD, CEO
Select Specialty Hospital-Greensboro
DeKnight@selectmedical.com
(336) 832-8571

Treasurer
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Cone Health
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Cone Health
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Vivian Langley, MHA
Cone Health
Vivian.Langley@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7087

Education Chair
Bridgett Sellars, PhD, RN, FACHE
AMN Healthcare
Bridgettsellars@gmail.com
(336) 209-4933

Sponsorship Chair
Mark Watson, MPT, OCS, MBA
Watson Healthcare Solutions
mark@watsonhealth.com
(412) 302-1668

Audit Chair
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
Fellowship Hall
bradm@fellowshiphall.com
(336) 580-9198

Recruitment Chair
Michael Duke
KPMG
michaelduke@kpmg.com
(336) 416-0568

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
Pfeiffer University
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associate
Eleanor Rivers
Cone Health
Eleanor.Rivers@conehealth.com
(336) 254-6720
Improving Communication for Better Retention
Although compensation can be one reason why employees choose to leave a company, poor communication and ineffective management also are contributing factors. Improving the way in which you interact with your employees will strengthen their loyalty to you. Below are ways to sharpen your communication tactics.
  • Listen. Don’t plan your response to a conversation while speaking with an employee. Listen, then respond. 
  • Free your schedule. Information and input shouldn’t only take place in casual conversations when briefly crossing paths with someone. Schedule regular appointments with employees for one-on-one discussions.
     
  • Be transparent. When something occurs within your organization that affects your subordinates, inform them as soon as possible with all of the appropriate information. Don’t withhold bad news for fear of lowering morale—instill trust by sharing all you know.  
  • Remain consistent. Don’t promise one thing and act in a way that contradicts what you’ve said. Stay true to the promise you make to promote honesty and integrity. 
  • Provide regular feedback. No matter whether an employee’s performance is good or poor, be upfront and honest and provide regular feedback. When performance can be improved, coach the employee on actions to take moving forward. 
  • Step out of your office. Email is an efficient and easy form of communication, but it isn’t a substitute for one-on-one, personal conversations. Talk to your team face to face as often as possible to show you are paying attention to what is happening in the organization and that you care about their performance.
 
—Adapted from Communication Solutions October 2015 newsletter, www.communicationbriefings.com .
 
Previous Article
Next Article
Scholarship Award Winners Announced
And the winners are...
The winners of the 2015 ACHE of the Triad Student Scholarship were announced on November 5 at our annual meeting.  Congratulations to Beth Murray and Keith Jones, both of Pfeiffer University, for being selected as this year's recipients of the student scholarship.  Beth and Keith will both join our board in 2016 as Student Associates.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Sharon Cass, Brian Yarbrough, Heather King, and Sohonnel Morrow.  We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Recertified: Paul Hammes and Ernest Bovio.