Spring 2016
In This Issue
President's Message
ACHE National News Q1 2016
Building Rapport
Inspire Positivity Through Constructive Criticism
Join the ACHE Official Group on LinkedIn
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2016 Board Members
President
Katy Davis, MHA
Cone Health
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

President-Elect
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Cone Health
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Treasurer
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
Fellowship Hall
bradm@fellowshiphall.com
(336) 580-9198

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Cone Health
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

Education Chair
Barbara Wolfe
Randolph Hospital
bwolfe@randolphhospital.org

Sponsorship Chair
Erik Lilje
Cardinal Health
Erik.Lilje@cardinalhealth.com

Audit Chair
Dave Jenkins, MA, MBA
Cone Health
Dave.Jenkins@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7840

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
Pfeiffer University
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associates
Beth Murray
Cone Health
Beth.Murray@conehealth.com
(336) 951-4527

Keith Jones
Cone Health
(336) 832-8764
Building Rapport


Rapport helps create and strengthen positive relationships built on trust and understanding; it is not something you can build overnight. However, you can do a few things to quicken the process:

  • Share a little of yourself. To trust and respect someone, you need to know a little about that person. Share with your co-workers and employees a bit of your background and history. Communicate what you think and believe. Open up, and you’ll be surprised how quickly people do the same.
  • Look for common ground. As people start sharing information about themselves, look for things you have in common. Do you both like running? Are you both from California? Did you go to the same college? Finding similarities can help reduce resistance in areas you differ.
  • Follow their lead. Pay attention to what other people are saying. Does someone have affinity for the word ‘perfect’? Work it into your conversation. Does a co-worker have an upbeat tone? Mimic that. This mirroring is called pacing, and it can help build a subconscious bond between people who don’t know each other that well.

—Adapted from Communication Solutions January 2016 newsletter, www.communicationbriefings.com.

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date!
ACHE of the Triad presents the Second Annual Spring Summit on May 26, 2016
We will be offering two panel discussions: Diversity & Inclusion and Leading a Successful Multigenerational Organization. The event will be held at Hospice and Palliative Care of Greensboro's Lusk Center and the day will start at 10 am and conclude by 3 pm, with lunch included in your registration fee. An invitation with registration information will be emailed to you in the coming weeks through EventBrite.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Dennis Campbell, Eric DeJonge, Eric Foushee, Andrew Jackson, Kevin Mahaffey, John Rodio, and Katherine Schuitema. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Dana Weston, FACHE (new), Sean Sans, FACHE (recertified) and Rick Blake, FACHE (recertified). Congratulations on your achievements and your commitment to your profession.