Summer 2016
In This Issue
President's Message
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Spring 2016
National News Q2 2016
Master These 4 Vital Conversations
Listen With Intent to Strengthen Leadership Skills
Career Corner
Join the ACHE Official Group on LinkedIn
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2016 Board Members
President
Katy Davis, MHA
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

President-Elect
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Secretary
Skip Deskin
wdeskin@gmail.com

Treasurer
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
bmarino00@gmail.com
(336) 580-9198

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

Education Chair
Barbara Wolfe
bwolfe@randolphhospital.org

Sponsorship Chair
Erik Lilje
Erik.Lilje@cardinalhealth.com

Audit Chair
Dave Jenkins, MA, MBA
Dave.Jenkins@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7840

Membership Chair
Greg Goins
greg.goins@gmail.com

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associates
Beth Murray
Beth.Murray@conehealth.com
(336) 951-4527

Keith Jones

Keith.Jones@conehealth.com
(336) 832-8764
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Spring 2016

Message from Your ACHE Regent
Spring 2016

So far, 2016 has been a great year.  All four North Carolina Chapters began the year with a lot of momentum and plans.  Thanks to the leaders in 2015 for a successful year.  Many thanks to Joann L. Spaleta, FACHE, Greater Charlotte chapter, for continuing to serve as President for an additional year.
 
I would like to thank Oscar R. Aylor, FACHE; Jay T. Briley, FACHE; Derrick B. Billups, FACHE; Neil Kinard, FACHE; Vivian Langley; Charles F. Mantooth Jr. FACHE; Brent W. Shive, FACHE; Joann L. Spaleta, FACHE; J.G. Stanley; Lynda Stanley, FACHE and David T. Sumner, FACHE for serving on my Regents Advisory Council last year.  You made my year much more productive and ensured our HEN received the attention it needed. 

On Feb. 19, 2016, I had the privilege of presenting Regents Awards to four very deserving individuals.   Congratulations to:
        
Lee Isley, PhD, FACHE - Senior Leader Award.  His contributions to rural healthcare have been phenomenal in North Carolina.   Not only is he active in ACHE, he is very active in his community, with the NCHA and AHA.

Phyllis Wingate, FACHE – Diversity Award.  She serves as a great role model for minorities.  Her leadership journey has been a very non-traditional one; one that provides a wonderful example for young, minority leaders who may face adversity along their way. 

Warren G. McDonald, PhD - HEN.  Dr. McDonald provides a tremendous opportunity in learning for young adults looking for careers in healthcare through Methodist University.  With a focus on developing leaders for rural communities, he is a collaborator, supporter and coach.   He is actively engaged in leadership of the Sandhills chapter.

Jeffrey Simms - HEN.  As an educator and counselor at UNC-Chapel Hill, he ensures a great educational experience on campus and in the real world.  He seeks opportunities to open doors for young leaders.  His energy is infectious. 

I am blessed to get to work with each of these leaders on many different issues.  Please congratulate and thank each of them for their contributions to healthcare leadership. 

Joann Anderson, FACHE
North Carolina Regent

Previous Article
Next Article
Submit Your Letter of Intent to Run for ACHE Regent
Submit via certified mail or electronically by August 26, 2016
Regent elections are being held in our area this year.  If you are a Fellow and interested in running for Regent, you must submit either a letter of intent to ACHE via certified mail postmarked no later than August 26, 2016, or an electronic letter of intent to elections@ache.org by the same date.  For more information, go to Official Notice for the 2016-2017 Council of Regents Elections.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Roderick Fuller, BJ Miller, Kimesha Spinks, Eric Steelman, Scott Supernaw, James Thomas, and LaShanda Villines. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Mary Blackburn, FACHE (new), Preston Hammock, FACHE (new) Pamela Barrett, FACHE (recertified), and Gregory Schulz, FACHE (recertified). Congratulations on your achievements and your commitment to your profession.