Summer 2016
In This Issue
President's Message
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Spring 2016
National News Q2 2016
Master These 4 Vital Conversations
Listen With Intent to Strengthen Leadership Skills
Career Corner
Join the ACHE Official Group on LinkedIn
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2016 Board Members
President
Katy Davis, MHA
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

President-Elect
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Secretary
Skip Deskin
wdeskin@gmail.com

Treasurer
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
bmarino00@gmail.com
(336) 580-9198

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

Education Chair
Barbara Wolfe
bwolfe@randolphhospital.org

Sponsorship Chair
Erik Lilje
Erik.Lilje@cardinalhealth.com

Audit Chair
Dave Jenkins, MA, MBA
Dave.Jenkins@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7840

Membership Chair
Greg Goins
greg.goins@gmail.com

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associates
Beth Murray
Beth.Murray@conehealth.com
(336) 951-4527

Keith Jones

Keith.Jones@conehealth.com
(336) 832-8764
Master These 4 Vital Conversations

The conversations you have with employees are critical to building trust, morale and productivity. Grasp them to ensure that your team reaches its full potential. 

  • Goal-setting discussions. Meet early and often with employees to discuss goals that will challenge them while fulfilling your organization’s mission. Work together to set performance standards and deadlines so that employees know exactly what is expected of them.
  • Recognition meetings. Employees should hear directly from you when they are doing something right. Take every opportunity to recognize and praise their good work, especially on tasks that are new and unfamiliar. Reinforce positive performance with specifics, acknowledging the exact contribution they made to the team. 
  • Redirection talks. Occasionally, you will have to correct a performance issue or revaluate your team’s path. Be prepared to sit down promptly with your employees to outline what’s wrong and what needs to change. Remain clear and firm about expectations and consequences. 
  • Wrap-up conversations. At the conclusion of an important task or project, meet with your team to discuss success and improvement areas, and to celebrate if appropriate. This approach also is useful when an employee masters a new skill. Let employees know when you appreciate their work, and remind them of how their efforts contribute to the organization’s success. 


—Adapted from Communication Solutions April 2016 newsletter, www.communicationbriefings.com.

 
Previous Article
Next Article
Submit Your Letter of Intent to Run for ACHE Regent
Submit via certified mail or electronically by August 26, 2016
Regent elections are being held in our area this year.  If you are a Fellow and interested in running for Regent, you must submit either a letter of intent to ACHE via certified mail postmarked no later than August 26, 2016, or an electronic letter of intent to elections@ache.org by the same date.  For more information, go to Official Notice for the 2016-2017 Council of Regents Elections.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Roderick Fuller, BJ Miller, Kimesha Spinks, Eric Steelman, Scott Supernaw, James Thomas, and LaShanda Villines. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Mary Blackburn, FACHE (new), Preston Hammock, FACHE (new) Pamela Barrett, FACHE (recertified), and Gregory Schulz, FACHE (recertified). Congratulations on your achievements and your commitment to your profession.