Summer 2016
In This Issue
President's Message
Message from Your ACHE Regent - Spring 2016
National News Q2 2016
Master These 4 Vital Conversations
Listen With Intent to Strengthen Leadership Skills
Career Corner
Join the ACHE Official Group on LinkedIn
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
2016 Board Members
President
Katy Davis, MHA
Katy.Davis@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7396

President-Elect
Michelle Bednarek, MHA, CHC, CPhT
Michelle.Bednarek@conehealth.com
(336) 218-8460

Secretary
Skip Deskin
wdeskin@gmail.com

Treasurer
Brad Marino, MPH, FACHE
bmarino00@gmail.com
(336) 580-9198

Director
Lisa Pennington, FACHE, M.Ed., CCC-SLP
Lisa.Pennington@conehealth.com
(336) 538-7517

Immediate Past President
Garry Kauffman, MPA, FACHE, RRT, FAARC
gwkauffman@hotmail.com
(336) 971-1108

Education Chair
Barbara Wolfe
bwolfe@randolphhospital.org

Sponsorship Chair
Erik Lilje
Erik.Lilje@cardinalhealth.com

Audit Chair
Dave Jenkins, MA, MBA
Dave.Jenkins@conehealth.com
(336) 832-7840

Membership Chair
Greg Goins
greg.goins@gmail.com

Education Liaison
Carol Vogt, Dr.P.H., MSN
carol.vogt@pfeiffer.edu
(704) 945-7318

Student Associates
Beth Murray
Beth.Murray@conehealth.com
(336) 951-4527

Keith Jones

Keith.Jones@conehealth.com
(336) 832-8764
President's Message
Katy Davis

Greetings ACHE of the Triad Members!

It's hard to believe half the year has already passed!  Since our last newsletter, we held our second educational event of the year, our 2nd Annual Spring Summit.  We had about 40 people in attendance on May 26, with two panel discussions presented: Successfully Leading Multigenerational Organizations and Diversity & Inclusion.  This brings our total Face to Face credit offerings up to 4.5 hours for the year.  We have two more Face to Face opportunities planned in late September and mid-November of this year, which will meet our goal of providing at least 7.0 Face to Face credits for the year.  We know how important it is to our members to have opportunities to earn their Face to Face credits locally and we strive to provide you these opportunities on a variety of timely and relevant topics.  If there is a topic of particular interest to you that we have not offered, please don't hesitate to reach out to me.

We also know that networking opportunities are important to you and provide a way for you to connect to your healthcare colleagues across the region in a more relaxed environment.  We are currently planning a networking event for late August, so be on the lookout for an invitation from EventBrite in about a month.

To support all of our membership engagement efforts, we rely on contributions from sponsors. Sponsorship of our chapter can take several forms - we offer everything from single event sponsorship to multiple levels of year-long sponsorship. A number of these opportunities still exist for 2016. Please reach out to me if your organization is interested in sponsoring us - your support allows us to provide greater benefit for all our members!

I would like to take this opportunity to recognize one of our members who is being honored this year by ACHE as a recipient of a Service Award through the ACHE Recognition Program.  Vivian Langley, ACHE of the Triad 2014 Chapter President, is being recognized by ACHE for her contribution to healthcare management excellence through her dedication to volunteer service to our chapter and ACHE.  We will be presenting Vivian with her award at one of our programs later this year.  Please join me in congratulating Vivian on this great honor and thank her for her service.

I'm looking forward to a great second half of the year. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me with ideas for how we can better serve you!

Katy
Next Article
Submit Your Letter of Intent to Run for ACHE Regent
Submit via certified mail or electronically by August 26, 2016
Regent elections are being held in our area this year.  If you are a Fellow and interested in running for Regent, you must submit either a letter of intent to ACHE via certified mail postmarked no later than August 26, 2016, or an electronic letter of intent to elections@ache.org by the same date.  For more information, go to Official Notice for the 2016-2017 Council of Regents Elections.

Welcome To Our Newest Members
We are excited to welcome the newest members of ACHE of the Triad: Roderick Fuller, BJ Miller, Kimesha Spinks, Eric Steelman, Scott Supernaw, James Thomas, and LaShanda Villines. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming event!

Congratulations to our New and Recertified Fellows
Mary Blackburn, FACHE (new), Preston Hammock, FACHE (new) Pamela Barrett, FACHE (recertified), and Gregory Schulz, FACHE (recertified). Congratulations on your achievements and your commitment to your profession.