APTA | Passenger Transport
October 11, 2010

In This Issue

Check out all of the senior positions available in the classifieds!


Scanlon, Thomas, and Ford Are Elected to Lead APTA

Michael J. Scanlon, general manager/chief executive officer of the San Mateo County Transit District and Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (Caltrain) in San Carlos, CA, was elected APTA’s chair at the Oct. 3 Annual Business Meeting in San Antonio, TX, during the 2010 APTA Annual Meeting.

Association members also elected Gary C. Thomas, president/executive director of Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART), as vice chair and Nathaniel P. Ford Sr., executive director/chief executive officer of the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA), to another one-year term as secretary-treasurer.

M.P. Carter, a commissioner of the Memphis Area Transit Authority in Memphis, TN, is the immediate past chair.

The 2010 election was the first since the APTA membership voted to approve extensive changes to the association’s governance structure. In keeping with the new structure, the APTA Executive Committee will no longer include modal and functional vice chairs, but will instead include 14 members-at-large who will serve without portfolio.

Similarly, the APTA Board of Directors will no longer include regional directors. It will instead combine representatives of APTA’s highest-dues-paying transit agencies and business members, the chairs of 25 core APTA committees, and 30 directors-at-large with the executive committee.

The initial terms of the new Executive Committee and Board of Directors are staggered—one year, two years, or three years—to ensure an orderly evolution of the executive committee in future years, with each future selectee serving for a full three years.

Elected to one-year terms as executive committee members at-large were:

J. Barry Barker, executive director, Transit Authority of River City, Louisville, KY;
Doran J. Barnes, executive director, Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA;
Alison Hewitt, board member, Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority (HART), Tampa, FL;
Jerome C. Premo, global transit director/executive vice president for AECOM in Orange, CA; and
Peter J. Varga, chief executive officer, Interurban Transit Partnership (The Rapid), Grand Rapids, MI.

Elected to two-year terms were:

Christopher P. Boylan, deputy executive director, corporate affairs and communications, New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority, New York, NY;
Greg Evans, M.Ed., vice president, Lane Transit District, Eugene, OR;
Sharon Greene, principal, Sharon Greene and Associates, Laguna Beach, CA; and
Alice Wiggins-Tolbert, director, project development, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Atlanta, GA,

Elected to three-year terms were:
David J. Armijo, chief executive officer of HART, Tampa, FL;
Sharon McBride, board treasurer, Greater Peoria Mass Transit District, Peoria, IL;
James Weinstein, executive director, New Jersey Transit Corporation, Newark, NJ;
Charles R. Wochele, a vice president, industry and government relations, with ALSTOM Transportation in Rochester, NY;
Alan C. Wulkan, managing partner, InfraConsult, Scottsdale, AZ; and
Gary McNeil, managing director, GO Transit, and executive vice president, Metrolinx, Toronto, ON, special advisor for Canadian issues.

New Board Members
Like the executive committee positions, the terms of directors-at-large on the APTA Board of Directors were staggered to ensure the board’s evolution over time; future selectees will serve full three-year terms.

Elected to one-year terms on the board were:

Michael J. Blaylock, executive director/chief executive officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville, FL;
Joseph A. Calabrese, chief executive officer, general manager/secretary-treasurer, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, Cleveland, OH;
William Correa, P.E., president and chief executive officer, Paragon Project Resources Inc., Irving, TX;
Paul E. Davis, general manager and chief executive officer, Tri-State Transit Authority, Huntington, WV;
Rufus Francis, director of safety, Sacramento Regional Transit District, Sacramento, CA;
David A. Hillock, president, Transit Associates Inc., Lisle, IL;
Christian T. Kent, assistant general manager, Department of Access Services, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, Washington, DC;
Reginald A. Mason, director of safety and training/chief safety officer, SFMTA, San Francisco, CA;
John A. Somers, director, transit business development, Clean Energy, Seal Beach, CA; and
Larry Yermack, transportation-chief strategist, Telvent USA, Rockville, MD.

Elected to two-year terms were:
Robert Brownstein, vice president, Halcrow Inc., New York, NY;
Tammy J. Haenftling, assistant vice president, paratransit management services, DART, Dallas, TX;
John L. Hendrickson, general manager, Waco Transit System, Waco, TX;
Paul C. Jablonski, chief executive officer, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, San Diego, CA;
Kristen Joyner, executive director, South West Transit Association, Austin, TX;
Brad Miller, general manager, Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority, Des Moines, IA;
Mary Jo Morandini, general manager, Beaver County Transit Authority, Rochester, PA;
Jesse D. Oliver, director, business and community relations, Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam Inc., Dallas, TX;
John R. Plante, senior manager, emergency preparedness, Chicago Transit Authority, Chicago, IL; and
Stanley J. Rosenblum, division vice president, Jacobs, New York, NY.

Elected to three-year terms were:
Mark R. Aesch, chief executive officer, Rochester Genesee Regional Transportation Authority, Rochester, NY;
Hakan Eksi, general manager-transit products, L.B. Foster Company Inc., Suwanee, GA;
Joel Gauthier, president and chief executive officer, Agence Metropolitaine de transport, Montreal, QC;
Delon Hampton, Ph.D., P.E., chairman, Delon Hampton & Associates Chartered, Washington, DC;
Stephen Kingsberry, executive director, Delaware Transit Corporation, Dover, DE;
Dick Ruddell, president/executive director, Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Fort Worth, TX;
Carl Sedoryk, general manager/chief executive officer, Monterey-Salinas Transit, Monterey, CA;
Kimberly Slaughter, associate vice president, planning, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County, Houston, TX;
Beverly S. Silas, board member, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Austin, TX; and
Evalynn A. Williams, president/chief executive officer, Dikita Management Services, Dallas, TX.


Members of the APTA Executive Committee for 2010-2011 include, from left: seated, Gary C. Thomas, vice chair; Michael J. Scanlon, chair; M.P. Carter, immediate past chair; and Nathaniel P. Ford Sr., secretary-treasurer; standing, committee members-at-large Alice Wiggins-Tolbert, Alan C. Wulkan, Doran J. Barnes, David J. Armijo, J. Barry Barker, Alison Hewitt, Jerome C. Premo, Sharon McBride, Peter J. Varga, Christopher P. Boylan, Greg Evans, and Sharon Greene. Not shown are James Weinstein and Charles R. Wochele. 

« Previous Article Return to Top | Return to Main Next Article »

© Copyright © 2008 American Public Transportation Association 1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4800 • Fax (202) 496-4321

Search Back Issues