APTA | Passenger Transport
The Source for Public Transportation News and Analysis March 25, 2011
Forward   |   Calendar   |   APTA Home   |   Advertise with Us
Scenes from APTA's 2011 Legislative Conference



An enthusiastic audience at the APTA Legislative Conference includes, from left, APTA Chair Michael J. Scanlon; Richard Ruddell, a member of the APTA Board of Directors and president/executive director of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority; APTA President William Millar; Peter Varga, a member of the APTA Executive Committee and chief executive officer of The Rapid in Grand Rapids, MI; and APTA Vice Chair Gary Thomas.

Conference participants take a break in the foyer of the Rayburn House Office Building to observe the APTA video wall. The information center also provided printed materials and buttons for attendees to take when they visited congressional offices.



Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA) meets with APTA members March 15 on Capitol Hill.

Rep. Nick J. Rahall II (D-WV), right, ranking member of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, talks to APTA Chair Michael J. Scanlon during the Capitol Hill Reception in the cafeteria of the Rayburn House Office Building.



Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), left, speaks at the Capitol Hill Summit Kickoff while APTA President William Millar, center, and Rep. Steve LaTourette (R-OH) listen.

Participants in the March 15 morning session include, from left: APTA President William Millar; FTA Deputy Administrator Therese McMillan; J. Barry Barker, a member of the APTA Executive Committee; Sharon McBride, another executive committee member and board treasurer for the Greater Peoria Mass Transit District in Peoria, IL, who introduced the secretary of transportation; DOT Secretary Ray LaHood; Rep. Corinne Brown (D-FL); APTA Chair Michael J. Scanlon; and FTA Administrator Peter M. Rogoff.



The musical political satire of the Capitol Steps is a luncheon tradition at the APTA Legislative Conference. Here, in substance, are President Obama, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, and former President Bill Clinton.

Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA), right, meets Leona Bridges, a board member of the City and County of San Francisco Transportation Agency, during the Capitol Hill Reception.



Rep. John Mica (R-FL), chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, speaks with Paul Skoutelas of Parsons Brinckerhoff after addressing the March 15 session.

APTA business members Michael Schneider of InfraConsult LLC and Sharon Greene of Sharon Greene & Associations at the APTA/ATU Capitol Hill Reception.



The March 13 meeting of the Business Member Board of Governors attracted a standing-room-only crowd.

APTA Chair Michael J. Scanlon, left, with Charles Watson, international vice president of the Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU), during the March 15 Capitol Hill Reception hosted jointly by APTA and ATU.



APTA Legislative Conference participants meet with Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC), right.

Shirley A. DeLibero of DeLibero Transportation Strategies chats with Gov. Tommy Thompson after his presentation Tuesday morning.




APTA Secretary/Treasurer Nathaniel P. Ford Sr. presided at the General Session, “Expanding the Transit Coalition: Partners in the Authorization Debate.”

Chuck Wochele, chair of the Business Member Board of Governors (BMBG) and a member of the APTA Executive Committee, welcomes participants to the Monday morning Policy Briefing and breakfast. The BMBG sponsored the event.

In his remarks the morning of March 15, Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood called on public transportation professionals to keep partnering with DOT as the administration works to increase funding.

Share: LinkedIn Twitter Facebook
« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »
» The Bloomington-Normal Public Transit System is seeking a new general manager. [More]
» The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority is looking for a director for MetroAccess paratransit. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail or fax the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com or FAX to (202) 496-4898. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: Noon, Monday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4819.
© Copyright 2011 American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe