APTA | Passenger Transport
The Source for Public Transportation News and Analysis June 17, 2011
Forward   |   Calendar   |   APTA Home   |   Advertise with Us
Nomination Process Now Open for APTA Leadership Positions

The nominations process for APTA leadership positions opened June 8 and continues through July 8. APTA Chair Michael J. Scanlon has appointed the nominating committee that will recommend individuals to fill these positions to the membership for approval at the APTA Annual Meeting.

This nominating season marks another important step in the evolution of APTA’s governance system. This second round of nominations under APTA’s amended bylaws will lead to another APTA first: the association’s first virtual Annual Business Meeting and Election.

We know what you’re thinking: “Isn’t APTA’s 2011 Annual Meeting and EXPO coming to New Orleans, starting Oct. 2?” Absolutely! In fact, if you haven’t made your plans to attend yet, stop reading and click here right now to register!

The APTA Annual Business Meeting and Election was that half-hour session typically held at noon on the Sunday of the APTA Annual Meeting where the APTA chair and secretary-treasurer presented their formal reports on the state of the association’s business; the chair of the nominating committee formally presented the slate of candidates selected by the committee; and APTA members unfailingly approved the slate of nominees by acclamation.

Under the new APTA governance model, these formalities will be moved to a virtual meeting to be held about four weeks before the Annual Meeting and EXPO. With that complete, the newly elected APTA Board of Directors will begin work immediately at the Annual Meeting, with a Saturday morning orientation for new board members followed by a working session of the full board starting at noon.

Immediate Past Chair M.P. Carter, commissioner of the Memphis Area Transit Authority (MATA), chairs the nominating committee, which will meet July 15 to select the slate of nominees.

APTA has electronically mailed a nomination letter to all members. The letter includes links to the nominating committee roster; the list of officer and director positions to be filled; and directions on accessing this year’s nomination and authorization form.

The nomination and authorization form itself has changed as well. Nominees will no longer have to fax in six or more pages of application materials as in years past. In keeping with APTA’s Sustainability Commitment, this year’s nominations will be submitted entirely online.

Even those letters of support that used to go out with more than a dozen hard copies—to be sure each member of the nominating committee received them—will be simplified. This year, those letters can simply be uploaded to the APTA web site for direct, immediate delivery to the full nominating committee.

All these documents and (we promise) easy-to-follow instructions are available online.

The APTA Executive Committee has set the following campaign guidelines to provide guidance to candidates seeking election to the APTA Board of Directors and Executive Committee:

* Personal letters, e-mails, personal conversations, and phone calls are acceptable campaign strategies;
* Campaign events and distribution of campaign materials are not permitted during or in conflict with any APTA meeting or conference event. Campaigning may occur before or after an APTA meeting or conference event; and
* APTA staff members or other APTA resources are not to play any role in campaign activities.

Questions regarding the election process, election guidelines, or eligibility requirements should be directed to Jim LaRusch.

The members of the nominating committee, appointed in accordance with the APTA bylaws and approved by the APTA Executive Committee, are:

* Chair: Mattie P. Carter, commissioner, MATA, Memphis, TN
* Jean-Pierre Baracat, vice president, business development, Nova Bus, Plattsburgh, NY
* Joseph Casey, general manager, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority, Philadelphia, PA
* Mary Ann Collier, director of operations, Swayzer Engineering Inc., Dallas, TX
* Vida Covington, director, support services, Sound Transit, Seattle, WA
* Barbara Gannon, executive vice president, Eno Transportation Foundation Inc., Washington, DC
* Delon Hampton, chairman, Delon Hampton & Associates, Washington, DC
* Huelon A. Harrison, principal, Legacy Resource Group, Dallas, TX
* Jeanne Krieg, chief executive officer, Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority, Antioch, CA
* John M. Lewis Jr., chief executive officer, LYNX-Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority, Orlando, FL
* Karyl Matsumoto, board member, San Mateo County Transit District, San Carlos, CA
* Michael P. Melaniphy, vice president, public sector, Motor Coach Industries Inc., Schaumburg, IL
* Diana Mendes, senior vice president, director of strategic investments transportation, AECOM, Arlington, VA
* Mary Jo Morandini, general manager, Beaver County Transit Authority, Rochester, PA
* Rosa Navajar, board member, Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Fort Worth, TX
* Pam O’Connor, board member, Santa Monica’s Big Blue Bus, Santa Monica, CA, and Los Angeles Metro, Los Angeles, CA
* Frank Otero, president and chief executive officer, PACO Technologies Inc., Miami, FL
* John Plante, senior manager, emergency preparedness, Chicago Transit Authority, Chicago, IL
* Ralign Wells, administrator, Maryland Transit Administration, Baltimore, MD

« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »
» The San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District is looking for a new general manager. [More]
» Miami-Dade Transit seeks a new director. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail or fax the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com or FAX to (202) 496-4898. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: Noon, Monday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4819.
© Copyright 2011 American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Your content here