July 11, 2014
» The Lehigh and Northampton Transportation Authority is looking for an executive director. [More]
» The Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority has an opening for a deputy director of transit operations. [More]
» Missouri DOT is seeking bids for several different types of vehicles. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail or fax the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com or FAX to (202) 496-4898. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: Noon, Monday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

Who's Doing What in the Industry

Rod Diridon Sr., Karen Philbrick
SAN JOSE, CA—Rod Diridon Sr. has retired as executive director of the Mineta Transportation Institute, a position he has held since the institute’s 1993 founding at San Jose State University.

Diridon was APTA chair in 1993-94 and currently serves on the Authorization Task Force and High-Speed & Intercity Passenger Rail, Research and Technology, and Legislative committees. He was vice chair for the Americas for the International Association of Public Transport (UITP) and recently received the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the Council of University Transportation Centers.

Deputy Executive Director Karen Philbrick will succeed Diridon as executive director. She joined MTI as research director five years ago and has served in her current post for the past two years.

Joyce Eleanor
SNOHOMISH COUNTY, WA—Joyce Eleanor, chief executive officer of Community Transit, has announced her retirement effective Aug. 12 following 20 years in the post. She is the longest-­tenured leader of the six Puget Sound area public transit agencies.

Before joining Community Transit in 1994, Eleanor was one of the first women to lead a U.S. public transit agency when she headed MIDTRAN, Midland, TX, in 1979.

Eleanor is a graduate of the Leadership APTA Class of 1998 and was a member of the APTA Executive Committee as vice chair-bus and paratransit operations, a regional representative on the APTA Board of Directors, and chair of the Bus Operations Committee. She currently serves on several bus-related committees and the Legislative Committee.

Ronald L. Barnes
BALTIMORE—­Ronald L. Barnes, APTA chair in 2005-2006, has joined the Maryland Transit Administration as senior deputy administrator and chief ­operating officer.

Barnes has more than 30 years of ­public transportation experience in both the public and private sectors, ­serving most recently as national business development leader for Total Transit in ­Glendale, AZ.

He also worked for Steer Davies Gleave and was deputy director of Miami-Dade Transit, president and chief executive officer of the Central Ohio Transit Authority in Columbus, and deputy general manager of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority.

Doug Tessitor, Paula Lantz, Carol Herrera, Becky Shevlin
WEST COVINA, CA—Glendora Councilmember Doug Tessitor has been re-elected chair of the Foothill Transit Executive Board. Pomona Councilmember Paula Lantz was elected vice chair and Diamond Bar Councilmember Carol Herrera treasurer/controller.

Monrovia Councilmember Becky Shevlin was elected to succeed Pasadena Councilmember Margaret McAustin.

Scott Wisner, Ron Brooks
PHOENIX—Valley Metro announced the promotion of Scott ­Wisner to bus services delivery manager and the ­hiring of Ron Brooks as manager of accessible transit services.

Wisner previously served as the agency’s customer service manager for 13 years.

Brooks has 21 years experience with the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District and Palm Tran, West Palm Beach, FL. He also worked 13 years with Veolia Transdev as project manager, director of business improvement, and most recently vice president of paratransit and IntelliRide development.

Steve Banta
PHOENIX—Valley Metro Chief Executive Officer Steve Banta recently was honored by the ­Phoenix ­Business Journal as one of ­“Phoenix’s Most Admired Leaders.”

Banta has worked in the public transit industry for 27 years, starting his career repairing railcars in San Diego.

Michael Savittieri

GERMANTOWN, WI—Michael ­Savittieri has joined WAGO Corporation as regional sales manager for Arizona, New Mexico, and southern Nevada.

Savittieri has more than 17 years of sales experience.

Ed Benning

FLINT, MI—Ed Benning, general manager, Flint Mass Transportation Authority, recently received the Jack Hamady Humanitarian Award from the Salvation Army-­Genesee County. The award was named for a longtime community leader.

Rhet Schmidt

PASADENA, CA—Rhet Schmidt has been named vice president and district manager for Florida in Parsons’ Road & Highway Division, based in Orlando.

Schmidt has 21 years of experience, including project management work for Florida DOT.

Sandra (Schmidt) Hill
LOS ANGELES—Keolis Transit ­America has named Sandra (Schmidt) Hill senior vice president, business development. Hill previously worked in business development management for Transportation Concepts and First Transit.
« Previous Article
Return to Top

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook