March 20, 2015
» Blacksburg Transit, Blacksburg, VA, has an opening for a transit director. [More]
» The Birmingham-Jefferson County (AL) Transit Authority seeks a director of operations. [More]
» MTA New York City Transit is soliciting contracts for 231 low floor 60-foot articulated buses with an option of up to another 300 buses. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

New Leaders Named

Leahy, Metrolink

Art Leahy, the retiring chief executive officer of Los Angeles Metro, has been named chief executive officer of the Southern California Regional Rail Authority, operator of Metrolink commuter rail in Los Angeles, effective April 20.

Leahy began his public transit career of more than 40 years as a bus driver for the former Southern California Rapid Transit District, the predecessor to Metro, and became its chief operations officer. He headed OCTA and Metro Transit in Minneapolis-St. Paul before returning to Los Angeles.

He serves on the APTA Board of Directors, chairs the Bus Standards Policy and Planning Committee and is a member of numerous other committees. APTA Chair Phillip Washington succeeds him at Los Angeles Metro.

Hartnett, SamTrans/Caltrain

The San Mateo County Transit District, San Carlos, CA, has named Jim Hartnett its general manager and chief executive officer. The position carries the titles general manager/chief executive officer of SamTrans, executive director of Caltrain and executive director of the San Mateo County Transportation Authority.

He succeeds retiring Michael J. Scanlon, a past APTA chair who headed the agency for more than 15 years.

Hartnett is a longtime transportation advocate who served for more than a decade on both the transit district and Caltrain boards of directors and chaired both boards. He also was a member of the California High-Speed Rail Authority Board of Directors for four years, serving most recently as its vice chair.

Heath, Community Transit
Community Transit, Snohomish County, WA, has selected Emmett Heath as its chief executive officer. He has been serving as the agency’s acting CEO since last summer and previously was its director of administration for 10 years..

Prior to joining Community Transit, Heath served in executive roles at the Snohomish County Public Utility District and Seattle’s King County Metro Transit, where he held positions including director, public transit vehicle maintenance, and director, Transit Department, capital planning and development.

Tomlinson, GRTA

Christopher Tomlinson has been appointed executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA) in Atlanta. He also serves as executive director for the State Road and Tollway Authority, Georgia’s toll operator and transportation bond financing authority.

Before joining GRTA, Tomlinson was general counsel for agencies including Georgia DOT, the Georgia Technology Authority and the Georgia State Financing and Investment Commission.

Burke, Chairman of the Board, AECOM

AECOM has appointed Chief Executive Officer Michael S. Burke to the additional position of chairman of the board. He joined the company in 2005 and was its chief financial officer and president before being named CEO last year.

This appointment completes a planned succession following the retirement of John M. Dionisio as executive chairman. Dionisio, who served AECOM for 43 years, will remain a board member.

« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook