July 10, 2015
» The city of Edmonton, AB, is looking for a branch manager for the Edmonton Transit System. [More]
» VIA Metropolitan Transit is seeking a director of facilities. [More]
» Los Angeles Metro requests proposals for a light rail vehicle overhaul program. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

Senate Commerce Committee to Mark Up Six-Year Transportation Bill

The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation will consider and vote July 15 on S. 1732, the Comprehensive Transportation and Consumer Protection Act of 2015.

The legislation, sponsored by committee Chairman John Thune (R-SD), Surface Subcommittee Chairman Deb Fischer (R-NE) and Consumer Protection Subcommittee Chairman Jerry Moran (R-KS), authorizes the office of the DOT secretary from Fiscal Year 2016 through FY 2021. Following committee approval of the legislation, S. 1732 will be combined with S. 1647, the DRIVE Act, and component legislation from other Senate committees on the Senate floor to form legislation commonly referred to as the surface transportation authorization bill. 

The Senate Banking Committee and Senate Finance Committee, which have jurisdiction over the transit title and taxes that fund the highway trust fund, have not yet introduced legislation that would also be incorporated into the DRIVE Act.
Share: LinkedIn Twitter Facebook
« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook