July 1, 2016
» The Birmingham-Jefferson County Transit Authority is seeking an executive director/chief executive officer. [More]
» The San Joaquin Regional Transit District is looking for a chief operating officer. [More]
» Capital Area Transit, Harrisburg, PA, requests proposals for shared ride-ADA paratransit service. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

Task Force Submits Final Report

The APTA Task Force on Member Collaboration recently submitted its final report to the Board of Directors, proposing several recommendations related to the association’s governance and membership development and services.

APTA Chair Valarie J. McCall launched the task force in October 2015, appointing co-chairs Patrick Scully, chair, Business Member Board of Governors; Ann August, member, Bus and Paratransit CEOs and Mid-Size Operations committees; and David Stackrow, chair, Transit Board Members Committee. McCall charged the task force with focusing on improving communication and coordination with APTA member groups and strengthening cooperation with key external partners representing local government, including the U.S. Conference of Mayors, National League of Cities and National Association of Regional Councils.

“I am proud of the work we have accomplished,” McCall said. “I believe we have made significant progress in improving alignment among APTA business members, transit agency CEOs and board members; in enhancing communication among APTA’s designated committees; and in strengthening our cooperation with key external partners.”

The task force also took steps to ensure more regular exchanges take place on initiatives with APTA committees, strengthen ties to APTA’s strategic plan and provide adequate staff support for member groups.

The recommendations will be carried forward by APTA’s new Revenue Task Force, chaired by APTA Secretary-Treasurer Kim Green; Task Force on Member Consensus, chaired by J. Barry Barker, chair, Legislative Committee; and the Governance and Bylaws Review Task Force, chaired by Nuria Fernandez, member, Executive Committee. Members of the Task Force on Member Collaboration were:

Representing public transit CEOs: Joseph Calabrese, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority; Don Orseno, Metra, Chicago; Keith Parker, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority; Carl Sedoryk, Monterey-Salinas Transit, Monterey, CA; and Lauren Skiver, SunLine Transit Agency, Thousand Palms, CA.

Representing business members: Jeff Wharton, IMPulse NC LLC; Hugh Harrison, Legacy Resource Group; Chuck Wochele, TransitConsult LLC; and Paul Skoutelas, WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff.

Representing transit board members: Carol Herrera, Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA; Jacquelyn Dupont-Walker, Los Angeles Metro; Beverly Silas, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Austin, TX; and Fred Daniels, MARTA.

The final report is here.

APTA Chair Valarie J. McCall, left, and task force co-chairs provided a progress report at the 2016 APTA Bus & Paratransit Conference. They are David Stackrow, Ann August and Patrick Scully.

« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook