March 24, 2017
» The Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority seeks a general manager and chief executive officer. [More]
» Laketran, Lake County, OH, is looking for a general manager. [More]
» The San Diego Metropolitan Transit System seeks proposals for procurement of 60-foot low-floor CNG transit buses. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

2017 COMTO Women Who Move the Nation

The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) recognized 11 women representing a broad cross-section of transportation in both the public and private sectors at the sixth annual Women Who Move the Nation awards ceremony March 15.

COMTO selected the honorees based on their demonstrated leadership in all modes of transportation, including public transit, and on their commitment to the advancement of women, diversity and inclusion. More than 60 individuals have received this honor to date.

Many of the honorees are APTA members and ­public transit leaders, including Juanita Abernathy, board member, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, who also received COMTO’s 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award; ­Margareth Bonds, senior vice president and director-state municipal government relations, Parsons; Sharon Greene, senior vice president and finance market sector director, HDR Inc.; Loretta Kirk, deputy general manager-finance and administration, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority; Terry Solis, principal, The Solis Group; and Veronique (Ronnie) Hakim, interim executive director, New York ­Metropolitan Transportation Authority.

Jannet Walker Ford, vice president and general manager of the eastern region, Americas, for Cubic Transportation Systems, chaired the Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation event.

Recipients of COMTO's 2017 Women Who Move the Nation awards.

« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook