January 12, 2018
» The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority seeks a chief executive officer. [More]
» The Maryland Transit Administration is looking for a director of transit operations and chief operations officer. [More]
» The Yuma County (AZ) Intergovernmental Public Transportation Authority requests proposals for operations and maintenance of fixed-route and demand-response service. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

TRB Honors APTA's Millar with Sharon Banks Award

The Transportation Research Board (TRB) honored William W. Millar, APTA president from 1996-2011, with the 2018 Sharon D. Banks Award for Humanitarian Leadership in Transportation Jan. 10, during its Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

The biennial award, first presented in 2002, recognizes innovative and successful leadership in people-oriented initiatives in transportation sustained over an extended period of time. It is given in memory of Banks, who was general manager of AC Transit, Oakland, CA, from 1991 until her death in 1999 and chaired the TRB Executive Committee in 1998.

Millar, a friend and mentor to Banks, was chief executive officer of Pittsburgh’s Port Authority of Allegheny County and an active APTA member before taking the top position. He received APTA’s Jesse L. Haugh Award (now Outstanding Public Transportation Manager) in 1987 and is a member of the APTA Hall of Fame.

For TRB, he was a leader in establishing the Transit Cooperative Research Program, for which he received the Founding Father Award for his leadership, and also was recognized with the W.N. Carey Jr. Distinguished Service Award, Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lectureship and the establishment of the William W. Millar Award for the best research paper addressing public transportation issues.

TRB recognized former APTA President William W. Millar, second from left, with the 2018 Sharon D. Banks Award. Joining Millar were, from left, TRB Executive Director Neil J. Pedersen, Chair Katherine F. Turnbull and Immediate Past Chair Malcolm Dougherty.

Photo by Risdon Photography

« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »
© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook