| ARVO Home | Mobile Version | Print-Friendly Version | Send to a Friend |
March 20, 2017

Manage ARVO e-News
Search Back Issues

In This Issue
ARVO Foundation
Huang is Dr. David L. Epstein Award recipient
ARVO Foundation announces fellowship and award recipients
Members in the news
Van Gelder receives $50k Bressler Prize
Events & education
Imaging Conference: Smaller meeting, big impact
Advocacy and outreach
ARVO members push for positive trend in NIH, NEI funding
ARVO journals
Who's hiring?
Funding opportunities
ARVO Foundation
Huang is Dr. David L. Epstein Award recipient

David Huang, MD, PhD, FARVO, of the Casey Eye Institute at Oregon Health & Science University has been named the second recipient of the Dr. David L. Epstein Award. This annual award carrying a $100,000 prize, recognizes a senior investigator in glaucoma who has a strong record of mentoring clinician-scientists to independent research in academic careers.

Huang is the Peterson Professor of Ophthalmology and a professor of biomedical engineering at the Oregon Health and Science University. He is most well-known for his role as co-inventor of optical coherence tomography (OCT), among numerous other scientific achievements. He has 16 issued patents and 14 pending patents, over 170 peer-reviewed articles and has been the principal investigator of five NIH research grants totaling over $20 million. He is also the co-recipient of the 2012 António Champalimaud Vision Award.

Huang will be presented with the Epstein Award at the General Business Meeting at the ARVO 2017 Annual Meeting on Tuesday, May 9 at 10:15am.

Dr. David L. Epstein, for whom the award is named, is widely considered to be one of the most influential leaders in the world of glaucoma and glaucoma research over the past 30 years. When Dr. Epstein passed away in 2014, his family created the award in his name to perpetuate and honor his commitment to the scientific understanding and cure of glaucoma through the support of promising clinician-scientists in exceptional research environments. The first award was given in 2016.


top of page up arrow Back to Contents Page | Next Article
Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology
1801 Rockville Pike, Suite 400 | Rockville MD 20852-5622
tel: + | fax: + | arvo@arvo.org | www.arvo.org
You are receiving ARVO Insight as a member service or because of your involvement with ARVO.

View ARVO's Privacy Policy.

To ensure delivery of Insight, please add arvo@arvo.org to your e-mail address book or Safe Sender List.
If you are still having problems receiving our communications, get more information about white-listing.