• Editor’s Comment
 • Jan Hindman
 • STABLE-2007 & ACUTE-2007: Improving the Assessment of Dynamic Risk Potential
 • ATSA and Public Policy: Many Steps Forward
 • Clinical and Theoretical Notes on the Change Process for Sexual Offenders
 • Juvenile sexual offenders: Comparison of victim age based subgroups and prediction of treatment outcome and recidivism
 • Board of Directors Election Results
 • Student Committee Report
 • Research Committee Report
 • New ATSA Members
 • Advertisement: Understand Offending
Newsletter Archives

Printer-Friendly Version

Contact the editor or
submit articles to:

Robin J. Wilson
Forum Editor
The GEO Group, Inc.
Florida Civil Commitment Center
13613 SE Hwy 70
Arcadia, FL 34266
Phone: (863) 491-6129
Email: dr.wilsonrj@verizon.net

Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers
4900 S.W. Griffith Drive
Suite 274
Beaverton, OR 97005

Phone: 503.643.1023
Email: atsa@atsa.com
Web: www.atsa.com

Vol. XIX, No. 4
Fall 2007
Research Committee Report


The Research Committee is pleased to announce the winners of its annual awards process. We received a great many submissions from students all around the world, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and New Zealand. Indeed, we were thrilled to have such a high caliber of up and comers from international destinations, as this is truly reflective of the breadth of ATSA’s membership in general.

The winner of this year’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Research is Gwenda M. Willis of Canterbury University in Christchurch, New Zealand for her paper “The Quality of Community Reintegration Planning for Child Molesters: Effects on Sexual Recidivism”. Congratulations to Gwenda, and much thanks to David Wood of Wood’n’Barnes, the co-sponsor of this award.

The winner of this year’s Predoctoral Grant Award is Kelly M. Babchishin of Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada for her proposal entitled “Using the Implicit Association Test to Assess Sexual Attraction to Children”.

Both Gwenda and Kelly faced great competition and we wish to applaud the efforts of all who submitted, either for the Graduate Research Award or the Predoctoral Grant.

Franca Cortoni
Ray Knight
Elizabeth Letourneau
Leonard Morgenbesser
Marnie Rice
Ralph Serin
Gretchen Thomas
Robin J. Wilson, Chair

ATSA Research Committee

  [Back to Top]