ATSA Forum - Vol. XXVII, No. 2
Spring 2015  (Plain Text Version)

Return to Graphical Version

In this issue:
Regular Features
 Editor's Note
 President's Message
Featured Articles
 Applying the Self-Regulation Model to Community Supervision
 How to develop good public understanding of child sexual abuse and its management.
 International Membership Survey Results
 Protective Factors for Sexually Violent Offending
Students' Voice
 Online Sexual Offenders’ Implicit Theories
Book Review
 Trauma-Sensitive Yoga in Therapy
ATSA Forum Survey
 ATSA Forum Newsletter Readership Survey
 Call for Board Nominees
 Awards & Grants
 Ethics Violation
 New ATSA Members
 Safer Society Press

Awards & Grants

Jill S. Levenson, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Awards Committee Chair

In recognition of those who have made significant contributions to the field of sexual abuse, ATSA is pleased to acknowledge individuals whose work and mission has impacted those affected by sexual abuse. 

The following awards and grants are being offered by ATSA in 2015:

Lifetime Significant Achievement Award

(Deadline March 20, 2015)

The ATSA Lifetime Significant Achievement Award recognizes and honors an individual who, over the course of their career, has made an important contribution within the field of sexual abuse. This award recognizes individuals who have contributed to the state of knowledge the field of sexual abuse; the reduction or prevention of sexual abuse; or the development of initiatives or programs to assist abusers or victim/survivors. The award is presented to an individual whose career work and dedication has significantly influenced or impacted advancements in the field while promoting the safety and well being of those affected by sexual abuse and the larger community.The recipient of this award should be an individual:

  • Whose contribution has enhanced the knowledge base in the field of sexual abuse;
  • Whose influence has been exerted through leadership including as an innovator, a teacher/mentor, theorist, spokesperson, or as a developer of public policy regarding sexual abuse; and,
  • Whose work has contributed to enhanced community safety and wellness.

Find out more... 

Distinguished Contribution Award

(Deadline March 20, 2015)

The Distinguished Contribution Award is designed to recognize an individual who has made a notable contribution within the field of sexual abuse.  The award is open to all disciplines and areas of the field of sexual abuse and honors an individual who has:

  • demonstrated excellent and innovative clinical skills that have engaged clients in the process of change and advanced the state of sex offender treatment or
  • made outstanding contributions in serving the community through dedicating their time, energy, knowledge and skills to support/facilitate community safety and abuse prevention or
  • through the press, television or film has advanced the public understanding of relevant issues regarding sexual abuse and offending, as well as the role of effective treatment in risk management  or
  • had significant impact on the growth and development of professionals in the field through mentoring and clinical guidance to others or
  • promoted advances in the effective management of sex offenders through other avenues, disciplines, etc.

Find out more... 


Gail Burns-Smith Award

(Deadline March 20, 2015)

The Gail Burns-Smith Award recognizes people who have made significant contributions to preventing sexual violence through their work to facilitate effective partnerships between advocates working on behalf of victims and survivors and those working in the area of sex offender management and treatment. This award, named in honor of Gail Burns-Smith, a visionary woman who expanded the thinking and actions of two previously disconnected groups of professionals, is intended to ensure that this important collaboration is continued and expanded by other forward-thinking leaders. The award is jointly sponsored by the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) and the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC), two organizations with similar missions and goals; honored to carry on the mission and vision of Gail Burns-Smith.

Find out more... 

Fay Honey Knopp Scholarship
(Deadline March 20, 2015)

The Fay Honey Knopp Scholarship has previously been presented to a person studying, working or volunteering in the field of sexual abuser treatment or sexual abuse research whose work exemplifies the qualities and vision of human goodness that Honey brought to the field and whose work/spirit is an inspiration to others.  Another component of the award was that the nominee-without financial assistance-would be unable to attend the ATSA Annual Research and Treatment Conference.  ATSA is proud to announce that the Fay Honey Knopp Award is now the Fay Honey Knopp Scholarship. Fay Honey was known for her support and mentoring of individuals taking on the challenge of working in the field of sexual abuse. She provided hope and courage while nurturing and giving strength.  The scholarships honor Fay Honey’s work in eliminating sexual abuse and making communities safer and her true spirit of caring and support.

Individuals studying, working or volunteering in the field of sexual abuse who might not otherwise be able to attend the conference are eligible for a scholarship.  Please note that there are a limited number of scholarships available. If you are interested in applying for a scholarship, please:

Find out more... 

Research Awards and Grants
(Deadline July 1, 2015)

Graduate Student Award is presented to a graduate level researcher completed whose research pertains to either sexual abusers or sexual abuse victims/survivors. The award winner will be selected by a panel of distinguished researchers who have produced some of the seminal work in this field. ATSA has developed this awards program with the intent of attracting research excellence to the assessment and treatment of individuals perpetrating or affected by sexual abuse. This year the panel will be chaired by Anthony Beech, Ph.D.

Find out more... 

Pre-doctoral Research Grant This year, ATSA will provide funding for grants designated as student research. The total amount of grant monies available is $15,000. Applications requesting any amount up to this limit will be considered. More than one application can be funded until the full $15,000 has been awarded.

Find out more... 

The ATSA Awards and Grants are not necessarily awarded annually. Each year the recipients will be chosen based on the number of and quality of submissions.

A complete description of the awards, the criteria and the nomination procedure can be accessed on the ATSA website.