December 17, 2018

In This Issue
Governor-Elect Mills Nominates Jeanne Lambrew, PhD as HHS Commissioner
MMA Holiday Hours
U.S. Federal Court in Texas Strikes Down the Affordable Care Act
Maine on the Short End of Federal Opioid Funding
Important Notification to Physicians & Staff from CMS
PCSS Offers Free 8-hour X-waiver Course for MAT
Measles Cases Rise, Pockets of Vaccine Refusal Threaten Community Health
End-of-year CME Opportunities Available Through AMA
AMA Podcast on Alternative Payment Models
Legislative Leaders Selected; Constitutional Officers Elected
Upcoming Specialty Society Meetings
Improving Opioid Prescribing and Patient Safety - Monday, December 17 5pm Augusta
Enrollment Underway for Maine’s Physician Executive Leadership Institute - The Advanced Course - Deadline for Enrollment: January 30, 2019
Identifying Substance Use Early Saves Lives! - SBIRT with Motivational Interviewing Training - 1-day Sessions Offered on Feb 2, Mar 2, Apr 6
Urgent Care Physician - South Portland, ME
Full-time Board Certified/Board Eligible MD/DO
Outpatient Family Medicine - Brunswick, Maine
Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner - Nasson Health Care
Primary Care Physician – Family Practice
Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants or Nurse Practitioners in multiple locations – BlueWater Emergency Partners
Physician – Leeds
Psychiatric Mental Health NP - Leeds
Outpatient Internal Medicine Physician – Bangor, Maine
Internal Medicine MD or DO (BE/BC)
Anesthesiologist - Kennebec Anesthesia Associates PA
Opportunities at the VA for Volunteer Physicians
Volunteer Opportunity with Partners for World Health

Search Back Issues


Follow Us:

Legislative Leaders Selected; Constitutional Officers Elected

Presiding officers and leadership have been determined for the upcoming 129th Maine Legislature. House Speaker Sara Gideon (D-Freeport) will retain her position, while Senator Troy Jackson (D-Allagash) will assume the position of Senate President as the result of the change in majority party in the Maine Senate.


In the House of Representatives, all of the other party leadership positions will be occupied by new people. Rep. Matt Moonen (D-Portland) will be House Majority Leader and Rep. Ryan Fecteau, who formerly chaired the Labor, Commerce, Research, and Economic Development Committee, will be the Assistant Majority Leader. On the Republican side, Rep. Kathleen Dillingham (R-Oxford) is the incoming House Minority Leader, and Rep. Harold “Trey” Stewart III (R-Presque Isle) will be the Assistant Minority Leader.

On the Senate side, Sen. Nate Libby (D-Lewiston) will be the new Senate Majority Leader, with Sen. Eloise Vitelli (D-Arrowsic) as Assistant Majority Leader. The Republican side will feature Sen Dana Dow (R-Waldoboro) as Senate Minority Leader and Sen. Jeff Timberlake (R-Turner) as Assistant Minority Leader.

One of the first orders of business for the new legislature was the selection of the three “Constitutional Officer” positions. Secretary of State Matt Dunlap will retain his position for another two years, his final two because of term limits. Attorney Henry Beck will be the State Treasurer, the post previously held by independent gubernatorial candidate Terry Hayes. Succeeding Governor-elect Janet Mills as Attorney General will be former State Representative Aaron Frey (D-Bangor).

The Legislature is scheduled to reconvene on January 2nd.

< Previous Article | Next Article >

[ return to top ]

To ensure delivery of Maine Medicine Weekly Update,
please add 'info@mainemed.com' to your email address book or Safe Sender List.
If you are still having problems receiving our communications,
see our white-listing page for more details: http://www.commpartners.com/website/white-listing.htm

Unsubscribe here

For more information or to contact us directly, please visit www.mainemed.com | ©