January 23, 2015
» The Societe de transport de Montreal is looking for a chief executive officer. [More]
» The Southern California Regional Rail Authority has an opening for a chief executive officer. [More]
» The city of Norwalk, CA, seeks proposals regarding a paratransit user side subsidy transportation program and advanced reservation Dial-A-Ride/subscription service. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1666 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

Who's Doing What in the Industry

AVTA's Austin Announces Retirement

LANCASTER, CA—Julie Austin, executive director of the Antelope Valley Transportation Authority (AVTA), announced her retirement in April. She joined AVTA as interim executive director in 2010 and was permanently appointed to the position the ­following year.

Austin has more than 30 years of public transportation experience, including eight years as executive director of Foothill Transit in West Covina, CA. She also has been a transportation consultant to agencies such as Los Angeles Metro, Long Beach Transit and Santa Monica’s Big Blue Bus.

Karen Hedlund

NEW YORK, NY—Karen J. Hedlund, former FRA deputy administrator, has joined Parsons Brinckerhoff as director of public-private partnerships in the strategic consulting group. Hedlund joined FRA as chief counsel in 2010 and became its deputy administrator in 2011. She earlier was FHWA chief counsel and a partner of the law firms Nossaman LLP, Skadden Arps and Mayer Brown.

Michael Townes
ARLINGTON, VA—Michael Townes, APTA chair in 2007-2008, has joined the Arlington office of HNTB Corp. as senior vice president and national transit market sector leader.

Townes has 35 years of transportation and public transit experience. He also chaired the Transportation Research Board Executive Committee and the Mineta Transportation Institute Board of Trustees.

Prior to joining HNTB, Townes was national transit services leader for CDM Smith and president and chief executive officer of Hampton Roads Transit, Hampton, VA. He also oversaw the merger of two ­public transit systems located in ­Hampton-Newport News and Norfolk, VA.

Valarie J. McCall, George F. Dixon III, Dennis M. Clough
CLEVELAND—The Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority announced the reappointments of three board members to new three-year terms.

The city of Cleveland reappointed Valarie J. McCall and George F. Dixon III to the board. McCall, a board member since 2006, also serves as vice chair of APTA. Dixon, who joined the board in 1994, served as APTA chair in 2003-2004.

The Cuyahoga County Mayors and City Managers Association named Westlake Mayor Dennis M. Clough to a new term. A board member since 1999, Clough has served as its vice president since 2011.

Jennifer Green-Ellison
WASHINGTON, DC—The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) has appointed Jennifer Green-Ellison as board corporate secretary, a position she has held on an interim basis since October 2014. She previously served as director of strategic communications for WMATA and community relations manager for the Charlotte Area Transit System.

Andrew Kotyuk, Ella Zanowic, Frank Johnston
RIVERSIDE, CA—San Jacinto City Councilman Andrew Kotyuk has been elected chairman of the Riverside Transit Agency Board of Directors, succeeding Temecula City Councilman Jeff Comerchero. Kotyuk joined the board in 2010 and was first vice chairman in 2014.

Board members also voted Calimesa Mayor Pro Tem Ella Zanowic as first vice chair and Jurupa Valley Councilman Frank Johnston as second vice chair.

Doug Tessitor, Sam Pedroza
MONROVIA, CA—The Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority Board of Directors has re-elected Glendora City Councilman Doug Tessitor as its chairman and Claremont City Councilman Sam Pedroza as vice chairman.

Mary Shaffer, Oscar Figueroa
PLANTATION, FL—Broward County Transit (BCT) announced the appointments of Mary Shaffer as communications leader and Oscar Figueroa as compliance/security leader.

Shaffer comes to BCT from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, where she led public relations efforts since 2010. She has more than 20 years of experience in marketing, communications, the media and public relations in both the private and public sectors. She succeeds Phyllis Berry, who retired in 2013.

Figueroa previously served since 2002 as manager of safety and loss control with St. Louis Metro. He has worked in the safety industry for more than 20 years.
« Previous Article
Return to Top

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook