February 5, 2016
» The New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority is looking for a manager for its certification program. [More]
» Pierce Transit seeks a senior program administrator. [More]
» Culver City, CA, requests proposals for its SmartBus System Project. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

McCall, Castillo Among COMTO's 'Women Who Move the Nation'

APTA members including Chair Valarie J. McCall and Past Chair Flora Castillo are among the 2016 Women Who Move the Nation whom the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) will honor March 16 in Washington, DC.

In addition to McCall, a member of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority Board of Trustees, and ­Castillo, a member of the New Jersey Transit Corporation Board of Directors, other APTA members named to the list are Grace Crunican, general manager, San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District; Kimberly Avery, Southwest Region engineer, Michigan DOT; Polly Hanson, chief of police, Amtrak Police Department; Feysan Lodde, founder, MV Transportation; ­Margaret O’Meara, vice president, Boston office, WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff; Karen Philbrick, executive director, Mineta National Transit Research Consortium; Leanne Redden, executive director, Regional Transportation Authority, Chicago; and (posthumously) the late Mary King, former interim general manager of AC Transit, Oakland, CA. In addition, Bryna Helfer, DOT director of public engagement to the secretary, was named to the 14-person list.

“COMTO is very excited about this year’s class of honorees. They are extraordinary women with amazing accomplishments who reflect the diversity in modes of transportation in this country. I look forward to celebrating each of them in March,” said Mioshi Moses, COMTO president and chief executive officer.

COMTO inaugurated its Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation awards in 2012. This year’s recipients bring the total number of honorees to 62.
« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook