February 5, 2016
» The New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority is looking for a manager for its certification program. [More]
» Pierce Transit seeks a senior program administrator. [More]
» Culver City, CA, requests proposals for its SmartBus System Project. [More]
View more Classified Ads »
TO PLACE AN AD: E-mail the requested date(s) of publication to: ptads@apta.com. Mailing address is: Passenger Transport, 1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005. Ad copy is not accepted by phone. DEADLINE: 3 p.m. EST, Friday, one week prior to publication date. INFORMATION: Phone (202) 496-4877.

Past DOT Secretaries Join Foxx to Celebrate Agency's 50th

DOT Secretary Anthony Foxx, at podium, welcomed six former secretaries to a Feb. 3 event kicking off the 50th anniversary of the department. Seated from left are Mary E. Peters (2006-2009), Norman Y. Mineta (2001-2006), Rodney E. Slater (1997-2001), Samuel K. Skinner (1989-91), James H. Burnley (1987-89) and the first DOT secretary, Alan S. Boyd (1967-69), who received a standing ovation. The secretaries spoke about their accomplishments in office, from vehicle safety improvements and dealing with terrorism to the deployment of advanced technologies. Burnley said, “It is the mantra of DOT and has been since Alan [Boyd] set it up: Safety is what we come in every day and focus on. That’s part of the culture of the workforce, handed down generation to generation.” Foxx also recognized Lynda Johnson Robb, daughter of President Lyndon B. Johnson, during whose term DOT came into being.

Photo by Larry Simmons, DOT
Share: LinkedIn Twitter Facebook
« Previous Article
Return to Top
Next Article »

© Copyright American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4882 • Fax (202) 496-4321
Print Version | Search Back Issues | Contact Us | Unsubscribe
Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube Facebook